‘Enriching our lives’: who gained a national honour

From community safety to business, politics, surf lifesaving, charity work, animal welfare and the arts … a collection of inspirational Sunshine Coast residents have been recognised in the 2024 Australia Day Honours list.

Sunshine Coast Council Mayor Mark Jamieson congratulated the recipients, saying their awards reflected outstanding service to their communities and nation.

“They have all excelled in their respective professions and pursuits and enriched the lives of others,’’ Mayor Jamieson said.

“The broad array of fields which this year’s Sunshine Coast award recipients come from also highlights the diversity of talent and excellence we have in our region.

“We are immensely proud of the work they have done and continue to do for our community and congratulate them on their achievements.’’

Leading criminologist and researcher Professor Lorraine Mazerolle, of Warana, was one of only four people appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for eminent achievement and merit of the highest degree in service to Australia.

Professor Mazerolle AC received her honour for her service to education, to the social sciences as a criminologist and researcher, and to the development of innovative, evidence-based policing reforms.

Prof Mazerolle, who is helping to tackle Queensland’s youth crime crisis, has held key roles at multiple universities, institutions and groups for more than 20 years. 

Bronwyn Edinger, CEO of The Events Centre Caloundra, was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

She received an AM for services to the performing arts, recognising her leadership roles across the country.

This included Black Swan State Theatre Company, Merrigong Theatre Company, Arts on Tour NSW, Bell Shakespeare, City Recital Hall, Glen Street Theatre, and Perth Theatre Company, where she was the joint founder.

Sunshine Coast Councillor Winston Johnston, of Maleny, received a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to local government, and to the community of the Sunshine Coast. 

Cr Johnston has been the councillor for Sunshine Coast Council Division 5 since 2020 and was councillor for Caloundra City Council Division 2 from 1982 to 1991. 

He is the president of the Maleny Show Society and former president of the Maleny Blackall Range Lions Club. Cr Johnston has also been involved with several community and business groups, and was a founding director of Your Insurance Brokers. 

Sunshine Coast surf lifesaving and charity champion, Tim Ryan, received an OAM for his inspirational work in our community.

Mr Ryan, a Life Member of Maroochydore Surf Life Saving Club and current president of the Sunshine Coast Branch, was a Founding Director of the Daniel Morcombe Foundation and contributed as a board member with Crime Stoppers Queensland and as chairman of Wishlist, Sunshine Coast Health Foundation.

Also honoured with an OAM was Morgan Parker, for his contribution to business.

Mr Parker has been chair of SunCentral since April 2021 and a board member since 2015. SunCentral was established by Sunshine Coast Council to oversee the development of the new Maroochydore City Centre on Council’s behalf.

Nicole Cleary, of Peregian Springs, received a OAM for service to animal welfare. 

She has been the manager of the Noosa Shelter for RSPCA Queensland since 1995. 

Allen Reed, of Maroochydore, received a OAM for service to the community of Maroochydore. 

He held key roles with the Maroochydore Residents’ Association, the Millwell Road Community Centre and has been a Justice of the Peace for more than 25 years.  

Assistant Commissioner Gary McCormack, of Birtinya, received an Australian Fire Service Medal. He was acknowledged for distinguished service with Queensland Fire and Emergency Services over 28 years, with a history of outstanding performance and leadership across multiple hazards. 

He was commander of state operations during significant parts of the Queensland bushfire season in 2018, and commander of North Coast regional operations during the major 2019 Peregian bushfire, the 2020 K’gari bushfire and during multiple floods in 2022. 

How to nominate someone

Queenslanders are encouraged to nominate members of their community for an Order of Australia throughout the year to ensure high achievement, professional contributions and charitable pursuits are justly recognised and celebrated.

The Council for the Order of Australia – and independent body with representatives from each state and territory of Australia – meets twice a year to consider nominations.

The nomination form for the Order of Australia can be found at www.gg.gov.au

The complete Australia Day 2024 Honours List is available on the Governor-General’s website



Scroll to Top